Running Wild with Bear Grylls: Episode 1 (Zac Efron) Review

I saw ads for Bear Gryll’s new show on NBC and I was immediately intrigued. I’ve always been a fan of Man vs Wild on Discovery, especially the episode with Will Ferrell. That was one of my favorites. His new show, Running Wild, is basically Man vs Wild with celebrities. And actual celebrities at that. Zac Efron, Channing Tatum, and Deion Sanders to name a few.

Premiering last week, Running Wild’s first episode featured Zac Efron (who I think is going to play Batman at some point in the future, you heard it here). Now before anyone starts saying it’s fake or whatever, I know that they take safety precautions and all the stunts are probably set up so that nothing seriously bad would happen, but they still do the stuff and eat all the gross crap they eat.

Below, I’ve made a little breakdown of some of the highlights of the episode.

-Near a waterfall, Bear spots a carcass of some animal. He sends Zac down to retrieve it. He first thought it was a rabbit but it turned out to be a beaver. He had to cut it open to see if it was fresh. It wasn’t and then Bear just tosses it down the waterfall again. I thought that was pretty funny.

-Since they couldn’t eat the beaver, they dug for worms. Bear basically said to chew them so they don’t crawl out your ass.

-One of the coolest things on the episode was starting a fire with a foil wrapper from gum and an AA battery. The foil lit up right away after both ends touched the battery. One thing I want to try now.

-One of the things they did a was a belly crawl across a rope 150 feet up. Ballsy. I don’t care who you are or how safe it was made to be.

-At the end near their extraction point, they had to repel down a waterfall clip and jump the last 15 feet or so into the water. Then they drove off on an ATV.

Now I have a sudden urge to go out in the woods.

Also, the show does a good job showcasing all of Bear Gryll’s knives/gear and his clothing line.

Overall, I enjoyed this episode. You learn some good tips and get to see some cool stunts performed. I’ll definitely check out the rest of the episodes. Looking forward to the Channing Tatum one since I think he’s just as crazy as Bear with some of the stuff he does. Should be a good one.

Link to Episode 1 

Bear Gryll’s Clothing/Gear

Bear Gryll’s Knives

 

Leave a Reply

